Dan Patrick elected to third term as Texas Lieutenant Governor

Republican Dan Patrick has been reelected to another term as Texas lieutenant governor.

Patrick defeated Democrat Mike Collier for the second consecutive election cycle.

This will be Patrick's third term, he has served as lieutenant governor since Jan 20, 2015.

Texas Election Results: 2022 Midterm

Going into election day, polls showed Patrick with a sizable lead over Collier.

Patrick, who received the backing of former President Donald Trump, spent a great deal of time campaigning in rural areas of Texas, typically a stronghold for Republicans.

Patrick will be sworn in for his third term in office on January 17, 2023.

Collier, a Houston-area accountant whose run focused on fixing the Texas power grid, was in his third run for public office. He has yet to win a race.

Collier lost to Patrick in the 2018 Lieutenant Governor race. In 2014, he ran for state comptroller and lost to Glenn Hegar. 

Races to Watch:

What does the Texas Lieutenant Governor do?

The Texas lieutenant governor is the president of the Texas Senate and serves as the leader of the Legislative Budget Board, among other duties. The lieutenant governor also establishes all Senate committees, appointing chairpersons and members. 

Lieutenant governor races are held every 4 years. There are no term limits for the position.