20 more Texas counties added to disaster declaration

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has added 20 counties to a disaster declaration for Texas after severe flooding last month.

The new counties are: Bastrop, Blanco, Caldwell, Denton, Eastland, Fort Bend, Gaines, Guadalupe, Henderson, Hidalgo, Johnson, Milam, Montague, Navarro, Rusk, Smith, Travis, Wichita, Williamson and Wise Counties.

Seven counties were part of the original disaster declaration signed by President Barack Obama last month. The declaration offers federal aid to supplement other recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe weather since May 4.

FEMA on Saturday said residents can register for aid by calling 1-800-621-3362 or signing up online at DisasterAssistance.gov.

FEMA says it has already approved more than $7.3 million in aid for individuals.

The death toll from the Memorial Day weekend storms is 33, including 28 in Texas.