Collin, Tarrant elect new sheriffs, Valdez re-elected in Dallas

Sheriff Lupe Valdez will continue to serve Dallas County. 

The fourth-term Democrat picked up 58 percent of the vote, easily defeating Republican Kirk Launius. Libertarian David Geoffrey Morris and Green Party candidate JC Osborne finished behind the top two candidates.

Bill Waybourne is going to be the new Tarrant County sheriff.

The former Dalworthington Gardens police chief received 81 percent of the vote, also easily defeating his opponent, Libertarian Max Koch.

Waybourne became the Republican nominee when he defeated incumbent Sheriff Dee Anderson in a primary runoff in May. He will assume office on Jan. 1.

In Collin County, Republican Jim Skinner defeated his Libertarian challenger Daniel St. Clair to become the next sheriff.

Voters rejected a proposition to allow liquor stores in Grapevine. The mayor and other city leaders opposed the proposition that was put on the ballot by a liquor store chain and 54 percent of voters did the same.

In the city of Arlington, Texas Ranger fans will see a new $1 billion stadium with 60%  of residents voting for the new stadium while 40% voted against it.

READ MORE: Arlington voters decide on new Rangers stadium with retractable roof