Texas Primary Runoff: Voting hours extended in some North Texas counties

Severe storms delayed the opening of some North Texas polling locations for election day.

The Dallas County Elections Department asked for patience as it dealt with power and phone outages preventing the voting machines from working at some locations.

MORE: Election Day Coverage

County elections officials said there are about 100 locations without power and 180 with power.

Fortunately, Dallas County voters can cast their ballot at any polling location.

Dallas County did extend its voting hours until 9 p.m.

Collin County said some of its polling locations are also experiencing outages or delays because of the weather. 

The county urged voters to check its polling locations map to find a location with a green status indicator. The locations marked in red are likely dealing with power outages. 

Collin County voters can also vote at any location in the county.

The Prestonwood Baptist Church polling location is closed in Denton County because of storm damage and power outages. Those set to vote there should instead go to the Career Center East polling location at 2553 FM 544 in Lewisville.

Rockwall County said many of its polling locations were without power during the storm. They have all since reopened. The county extended voting until 8 p.m.

Kaufman County also extended voting hours until 8 p.m.

Tuesday is election day for the primary runoff in Texas. Voters heading to the polls are deciding which candidates will advance to the general election in November.

There are no statewide races in either party but there are a lot of legislative races that will likely decide the winner of the fall election.

In North Texas, Republicans have runoff elections in six state representative districts.

Gov. Greg Abbott has actively campaigned against Republican incumbents Justin Holland in District 33 and Dewayne Burns in District 58. They opposed his school voucher plan.

Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton has also campaigned against Holland and Burns, along with Frederick Frazier in District 61, Stephanie Klick in District 91, and Lynn Stucky in District 64, because they voted to impeach him.

There’s also a hotly contested open seat in District 97 between Cheryl Bean and John McQueeney. 

That seat is currently held by Craig Goldman, who is in a runoff for the Republican nomination for the U.S. House in District 12. Republican Kay Granger is vacating the House District 12 seat.

The Dallas County Sheriff's race is one of the biggest races in Dallas County. Incumbent Marian Brown is up against her predecessor and fellow Democrat Lupe Valdez.

The winner will almost certainly win the fall election as no Republican filed for the race.

Results will be posted on FOX4News.com after the polls close.