Challengers unseat 3 Dallas council members

Image 1 of 4

Three Dallas city council members lost in the weekend runoff election.

In West Dallas District 6, which is at the center of a voter fraud investigation, Councilwoman Monica Alonzo will be replaced by challenger Omar Narvaez.

Kevin Felder will take over Councilwoman Tiffinni Young’s place in District 7 in South Dallas. Also, Councilman Erik Wilson lost his re-election bid to former Councilman Tennell Atkins. Atkins will again represent Southeast Dallas.

Results of Saturday’s runoff election in Dallas were delayed until late Sunday night so the county elections department could take extra steps to verify ballots.

There is currently a criminal investigation into possible voter fraud in Dallas County. Last month some voters complained about getting mail-in ballots they did not ask for.

As a precaution, elections officials took the time to verify signatures on more than 800 runoff election ballots.

“We want to make sure the voters do understand we are taking the necessary steps to make sure the votes are valid and everything is fair and transparent,” said Toni Pippins-Poole, the Dallas County elections administrator.

One man faces charges of election fraud and the investigation into phony mail-in ballot applications continues.